in ,

Gail Kelly, Magda Szubanski And Gillian Triggs: Women’s Leadership Winners

Gail Kelly, Magda Szubanski And Gillian Triggs: 2018 Women’s Leadership Award Winners

Gail Kelly, Magda Szubanski And Gillian Triggs are among the fabulous 2018 Winners Of The Australian Awards For Excellence In Women’s Leadership 

Winners at the Women’s Leadership Symposiums.

The prestigious Women and Leadership Australia (WLA)  awards recognise individual women that have contributed to the advancement of gender equality. In addition, the award winners’ actions have improved the likelihood of other women within their field of endeavour having greater access to leadership opportunities.

Gail Kelly, Magda Szubanski And Gillian Triggs: 2018 Winners Of The Excellence In Women’s Leadership Awards

Gail Kelly, the former CEO of Westpac and a trailblazer for women’s equality in the finance sector, is bestowed with the honour of receiving the National Award for 2018. Having led the 12th biggest bank in the world, improving net profits and gender equality whilst at the helm, Kelly has more recently authored a book on leadership and funded the Gail Kelly Global Leaders Scholarship.

Around Australia, the state and territory winners of the awards for 2018 are:

– Gillian Triggs, former President, Australian Human Rights Commission (NSW)
– Magda Szubanski, actor, comedian, writer and activist (VIC)
– Dr Kirstin Ferguson, Non-Executive Director and Chair (QLD)
– Dr Kate Stannage, President, Australian Paediatric Orthopaedic Society (WA)
– Taryn Brumfitt, founder, Body Image Movement (SA)
– Marita Cheng, women-in-technology advocate and tech entrepreneur (TAS)
– Major General Simone Wilkie, Commander, Australian Defence College (ACT)
– Nova Peris OAM, first Aboriginal Australian to win an Olympic gold medal (NT).

Award winners will be acknowledged at the Women’s Leadership Symposium series across Australia’s capital cities. The events are Australia’s premier annual gathering for women in leadership, and take place in Brisbane (2-3 May), Perth (10 May), Sydney (21-22 June), Canberra (5 July), Adelaide (19 July), Melbourne (24-25 July), Darwin (1 August) and Hobart (22 August). More information can be found at

WLA Head of School Suzi Finkelstein said, “Each and every award winner has had a tremendously positive impact on our society. Showcasing the hard work and dedication of these high achievers is extremely important.”

Women Love Tech

Written by Women Love Tech

Women Love Tech is an award-winning lifestyle technology site. Discover the best smartphones, latest apps, cool gadgets, social media, emerging tech and news. Be inspired by our regular profiles of women in tech as we continue with our mission to promote women in STEM and to make technology easy and fun!

Samsung's New 2018 Television Lineup

Samsung Announces Its New 2018 Television Lineup

How To Be Aware Of Fingerprint Fraud

How To Protect Yourself From Fingerprint Fraud