Maybe you’ve received an email from Facebook announcing they removed the old Facebook setting: ‘Who can look up your Timeline by name” – this setting controlled who could find your Timeline by typing your name in the search. This article is here to help you to understand and control your Facebook Timeline privacy.
What Is Now Happening On Your Timeline?
- Anyone is able to look up your Timeline by your name – but if they go to your Timeline, they’ll only see what they already have permission to see. Removing this setting doesn’t change who can see your photos, status updates or other things you’ve shared.
- Why is Facebook removing this setting?
- To make your life simpler.
- The best way to manage who sees your stuff is to use your Privacy Shortcuts -> Click on the lock symbol at the top of every page of the Facebook website and choose who to share with when you post new photos and updates.
- Facebook will remind you about this setting
- You can quickly limit the audience of things you’ve shared in the past to Friends, visit privacy setting into your FB account.
- Each time you share a photo, link or status update, you can set the privacy for that specific post.
- Take a look at what you’ve shared in the past – and who can see that info – by going to your activity log.
3 Tips To Help Manage Privacy
1. Take a look at who can see your past posts- and limit the audience if you’re not comfortable with anything.
- You can review the audience for your past posts in your activity log.
- To quickly limit the audience of old posts to friends, visit your Privacy Settings.
2. Consider who you’re sharing with today.
- Each time you post a new photo, status update, link or other content, you get to set the privacy for it.
- Look at your audience selector and decide if you want to share big ideas for anyone in the world, set the post to Public.
- Reserve personal pictures for the people you know the best, set the post to Friends, Close Friends or Custom.
- Share something with someone specific, you can also send it as a message instead of posting it.
3. To review or change who can see your stuff, anytime, visit your privacy shortcuts.
- Just click the lock at the top of any page of Facebook.